Musical Phenomenon


downloadMusic being a combination of pitch, rhythm and dynamics breaks into different types of tones upon alternative synchronization of its components. Some of these alternative chords produce timbre that sooth your ears and calm the mind while other combinations wake you up on a dull day. Other combinations may sometimes put you to sleep as well, such is the nature of music. With this dynamic nature of music, different people develop different sensory perceptions or taste toward a particular type of music. Some develop liking for hard rock music with a lot of Base involved. I personally don’t like hard rock because I feel it incomprehensible to pick the lyrics against too loud music. So my cup of tea is soft rock where I can make-out the lyrics and have its alleviating effects on my mind, but as the saying goes “to each his own”. There are genres for almost every one, for love ridden youth, for lonely broken hearts, for travelers, hippies, gypsies and what not,

Music plays many roles in our lives. In a way, it can be said that music inspires people and thus draws them toward their ambitions.  It is a very strong mode of communication with our own selves as well as with others. It is a medium of passing messages, teachings, commands and updates. Music somehow reflects the socio-political and economic conditions of a society. And that is the reason music, apart from its role in the entertainment, has been used in political avenues.  Music has drawn revolutions, inspired people to topple despots and change their fortunes. Claude Joseph’s “chant de guerre pour I’Amree du Rhin” (War Song for the Army of Rhine) became an instant hit and inspired millions during French Revolution after first being sung in the streets of Marseille. It drew such an inspiration that it was later adopted as the National anthem of France in 1795.  Another revolutionary song written by Eugene Pottier in 1871 was “The Internationale” which became a leftist anthem and is sung as a leftist slogan almost everywhere in the world. Its Chorus “This is the final Struggle, let us group together, and tomorrow The Internationale will be the Human Race”  became the most memorable elements of the song.

Anyways, what I want to emphasize here is that people develop a taste of music depending upon their conditions which might be socio-political, economical, psychological or otherwise. And in the same pretext, I believe, knowingly or inadvertently, I or we (Kashmiris) too have developed a taste to a certain genre of music. I became acquainted with this fact quite recently. Working in a Research Center, let me tell you, the most boring job is imaging, sitting with your eyes glued to the eye-pieces of a Microscope for hours together and trying to picture your results from every possible angle, it freaks you out sometimes. So to maintain my calm I prefer listening to some music. I was recently rejoicing my favorite playlist. Rubaab maestro, Subhan Rather with his artistic charisma was creating ripples in the air as his fingers would tremble on the strings. His euphonious voice, dancing each word of the song (Wallo ha Bhaagvaano nav baharuk shaan paida kar) on the chords he struck with his Rubaab. For sometime “Mehjoor” had come alive and was talking to me in the wilderness of a dream, I was the “Bhaagvan” (Gardner) of our world and he was reminding me of my dilapidated garden, asserting that together we could get back to life and bloom our crumpled flowers.

The song had created an aura of inspiration around me when a friend intervened and innocently requested me to explain the meaning of the lyrics. As expected, my explanations didn’t go well down in her stomach and she began retching  questions about Kashmir and the writer’s motives and influences. She summed it in one line ” so Mehjoor was motivating you people to revolt, isn’t it?”  The song ended while I was still trying to make her understand the Kashmir situation and the reasons why we still find afflatus in Mehjoor’s songs. The swinging nods of her head, which seemed to go both vertical as well as horizontal left me in doubt of my diction and oratory skills. I couldn’t understand whether I was able to make any difference to her stiff and  rigid understanding of the Kashmir, thanks to Indian media. Soon MC Kash (Roushan Illahi) made it easier for me with his songListen, My Brother“. She got the sense that our socio-political situation reflects in our songs. This vibrant and spirited artist’s song gave her the impression that our youth are up for it. “Time might have passed from Mehjoor to MC Kash but the message remains the same, only the presentation has changed, MC Kash is blunt and loud“, I said. In his deep and strong voice, Muhammad Muneem featuring in the song commiserates, ” waqt jab ayay ga wo, ublay ga khoon tera bhi, Zehniyat bai raham ho jayay gee, fir shayad tujay sharam ayay gi“.  These lines were self explanatory. “They are provoking you people for freedom, music is for entertainment but you Kashmiris have made something else out of it” she said with a smirk on her face.

Unease and anger evident on her face and in her expressions, she stood up and started leaving. In the meantime my favorite playlist started on its last song, “Mujay Azaad Karo” from Junoon’s all time hit album “Azadi”. Before she stormed out of the door, she yelled at me saying ” your choice of music in sick“!

Published By Rising Kashmir on Nov 06, 2013

Published by

ikramilluminati

Born in a conflict & caught between Scylla and Charybdis, trying to find my way out of the fracas/Geneticist/Writer. In the day I study and work on Human Diseases and during night I spend some time to write on Human Divide and Conflict.

Leave a Reply

